BCT’s Spring 2018 Job Fair is Next Week

BCT’s Spring 2018 Job Fair is Next Week

The Building and Construction Technology spring job fair for jobs in construction, project management, green building, materials, building systems, and related fields is coming up on Wednesday, February 28th from 10am to 3pm. Like last time, we will be holding it in the beautiful John W. Olver Design Building. This event is free for all UMass and other students. Just dress up, bring your resumes and come! The most up-to date listing of participating companies is on our calendar entry page: https://bct.eco.umass.edu/event/bct-spring-2018-job-fair/ Like last time, this event is co-organized and heavily supported by the great folks in our NAHB student group. Looking forward to seeing you all at the job fair!  ...
Read More
Bring your Resumes! BCT is Hosting Fall Job Fair on October 20th

Bring your Resumes! BCT is Hosting Fall Job Fair on October 20th

The Building and Construction Technology program and our NAHB* student group are organizing a job fair for the first time in fall 2017 for jobs in construction, project management, green building, materials, building systems, and related fields. This job fair is free and open to all UMass Students. Just dress up, bring your resumes and come to the Design Building! *National Association of Home Builders By the way: After the job fair, stay for the BCT alumni party (RSVP here)! Company Exhibitor List (updated: 10/16) All States Materials Group asmg.com Arcadis www.arcadis.com Aspen Square Management www.aspensquare.com Boise Cascade www.bc.com Center for EcoTechnology www.cetonline.org CLEAResult www.clearesult.com CMC Design Build Inc. cmcdesign-build.com Consigli Construction careers.consigli.com Cowls Building Supply, Inc. cowlsbuildingsupply.com Crown Castle www.crowncastle.com Dimeo Construction Company www.dimeo.com Ed Herrington, Inc. www.herringtons.com Gaston Electrical gastonelectrical.com Gilbane Building Company www.gilbaneco.com Hill International Inc. www.Hillintl.com HireElements / A.W. Hastings hireelements.com J.C Cannistraro, LLC www.cannistraro.com Lee Kennedy Co., Inc. www.leekennedy.com Mid-Cape Home Centers www.midcape.net National Lumber www.national-lumber.com Pella Windows and Doors www.pellaofhaverhill.com Rex Lumber Co. rexlumber.com Sanford and Hawley Inc. sanhaw.com The Whiting-Turner Contracting Co www.whiting-turner.com Trimble www.trimble.com Turner Construction turnerconstruction.com Walsh Brothers, Inc. www.walshbrothers.com Wayne J. Griffin Electric, Inc. www.waynejgriffinelectric.com Wolf Home Products www.wolfhomeproducts.com Employers: Interested in exhibiting at this fair? We may still have space. Register here!...
Read More
Some summer reading: Follow our BCT students’ internships!

Some summer reading: Follow our BCT students’ internships!

Many students in BCT sign up for construction-related summer work, either as internships, practicums, or just as a job that relates to their studies. They always have amazing experiences, which lets them practice what they learned during the semester. What we fond, though, was that in the past, their experiences were often just reported to their immediate faculty supervisor, which didn't allow others to learn about the breadth and the many details of "real world" work. This summer, we are trying something new: A blog for BCT students! This way, anyone can follow our students' amazing experiences and learn from what they are seeing in the field. Feel free to check out the latest posts at the following address: http://blogs.umass.edu/bct-interns...
Read More

Weil Co-Organizes Panel on Women in Green Building Construction

As part of the monthly “Green Night Events” at the Clarion Hotel in Northampton, BCT extension faculty member Ben Weil co-organized a panel discussion with Jaqueline Cook on January 14th. This event took place under the umbrella of the Western Massachusetts Green Consortium (http://westernmassgreenconsortium.org). You can read more about this event in this WWLP News item. ...
Read More
12